Group permissions ignored on NFS

I’ve just spent 20 minutes staring at group permissions on a server and banging my head of a desk because my user couldn’t write a file in a particular directory.

I was absolutely *sure* the permissions were right.

Directory was on an NFS share. Turns out that there’s a limit to the number of unix groups that work with NFS (it’s 16). If you’re in more groups than that it ignores them.

There’s a detailed discussion of the problem at http://nfsworld.blogspot.co.uk/2005/03/whats-deal-on-16-group-id-limitation.html.

One response to “Group permissions ignored on NFS

  1. Thanks! I spent a similar amount of time, but you saved me spending more!

Leave a Reply

