IoP Collaboration graph with R igraph

My boss asked me to make a nice slide for a presentation showing the collaborations between researchers at our institute. I have a mountain of other work to do, so in the name of procrastination I spent the afternoon playing with the igraph R library:


collaboration
click for big image

Code

5 responses to “IoP Collaboration graph with R igraph

  1. Hi!

    Trying to learn how to use the igraph package in R I came across your beautiful graph. Great, inspiring work!

    I tried to do something similar, but sofar I haven’t succeeded. Could you give me hint about the source code of this graph?

    All the best,

    Christian

  2. Hey Christian – probably a bit late now, but I’ve added a link to the code.

  3. This is great! Any chance you can let me know the structure of your two data sources. I’m attempting to replicate from a single .csv file. Running into issues when I try to color by data levels.

  4. Yep. The original .xls file is at http://github.com/cassj/my_bioinfo_scripts/raw/master/collaborations.xls

    If you have ruby, rubygems, rake and the Perl module Spreadsheet::ParseExcel installed you can just grab the Rakefile from https://github.com/cassj/my_bioinfo_scripts/blob/master/Rakefile.iop_connections and run ‘rake’. It’ll download all necessary scripts and datafiles, convert xls to csv and run the script to generate the plot for you. I just tried it on RHEL6 and it works for me. I had to make a quick change to the code to get it working with a recent version of igraph but I’ve pushed the change to github.

Leave a Reply

