ffmpeg: Unknown encoder 'mp3'

Aaagh. Haven’t used ffmpeg much and it took me a good 20 mins of searching to figure out why -acodec mp3, as recommended on many howtos kicking about the place, kept giving me an unknown encoder error.

It isn’t unknown, it’s just that the incantation has been changed: -acodec libmp3lame

Sigh…I will never get those 20 mins of my life back…

3 responses to “ffmpeg: Unknown encoder 'mp3'

  1. THANK YOU! Yes it robbed me of more than 20mins of my life.
    I tried mp2 but got:
    Warning, using MS style audio codec tag, the file may be unplayable!
    and with mp3:
    Unknown encoder mp3

    Bah! – thanks again for destressing my day!
    Malc.

  2. Thanks for Your Information. it is really use for me..

    Thanks & Regards
    P.Karuppasamy

  3. Many thanks for this, saved me a lot of trouble. 🙂

Leave a Reply

